Twenty-seven Indian athletes are currently participating in 15 different events at the World Athletics Championships 2023, taking place in Budapest, also known as Budapest 23. This marks the 19th edition of the championships, commencing on August 19 and concluding on the 27th.

The Indian athletics contingent for this world championship consists of 27 members, including 23 men and four women. Among the participants are prominent figures like Neeraj Chopra, the champion of the Tokyo Olympics, as well as record holders Avinash Sable, Jyothi Yarraji, Jeswin Aldrin, and Praveen Chithravel.

Noteworthy individuals within the Indian team also include Murali Sreeshankar, Eldhose Paul, Shaili Singh, DP Manu, Annu Rani, and Abdulla Aboobacker.

The Indian athletes are actively competing across 15 events, distributed between 11 events for men and four for women, during the World Athletics Championships 2023 in Budapest.

The Indian team’s composition is as follows:


  • Krishan Kumar (800m)
  • Ajay Kumar Saroj (1500m)
  • Santosh Kumar T (400mH)
  • Avinash Sable (3000m SC)
  • Sarvesh Anil Kushare (high jump)
  • Jeswin Aldrin (long jump)
  • Murali Sreeshankar (long jump)
  • Praveen Chithravel (triple jump)
  • Abdulla Aboobacker (triple jump)
  • Eldhose Paul (triple jump)
  • Neeraj Chopra (javelin throw)
  • DP Manu (javelin throw)
  • Kishore Jena (javelin throw)
  • Akashdeep Singh (20km race walk)
  • Vikash Singh (20km race walk)
  • Paramjeet Singh Bisht (20km race walk)
  • Ram Baboo (35km race walk)
  • Amoj Jacob (4x400m relay)
  • Muhammed Ajmal (4x400m relay)
  • Muhammed Anas (4x400m relay)
  • Rajesh Ramesh (4x400m relay)
  • Arul Rajalingam (4x400m relay)
  • Mijo Chacko Kurian (4x400m relay)


  • Jyothi Yarraji (100mH)
  • Parul Chaudhary (3000m SC)
  • Shaili Singh (long jump)
  • Annu Rani (javelin throw)

Prior to the Budapest23 event, Indian athletes had secured just two medals at the world championships: a bronze for women’s long jump by Anju Bobby George in Paris 2023 and a silver for men’s javelin throw by Neeraj Chopra in Oregon 2022. India’s quest for a gold medal at this global competition remains ongoing.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *