Charges under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act (UAPA) have been invoked against the individuals involved in the Parliament security breach.

The fifth suspect in the significant security breach at the Lok Sabha on Wednesday has been apprehended in Gurugram, while the sixth suspect remains at large. Vishal Sharma, the fifth suspect, provided shelter to the four individuals who devised the plan. During the session, Sagar Sharma and Manoranjan D infiltrated the Lok Sabha from the visitors’ gallery, releasing yellow gas. Amol Shinde and Neelam Devi were found protesting outside Parliament. The arrest of the four, all unemployed individuals with diverse backgrounds, led the police to Vishal, whose residence served as the base for executing the security attack. Another accomplice, Lalit, is currently evading arrest. The breach, occurring on the anniversary of the 2001 Parliament attack, raised concerns about the security system of the new Parliament building, as Sagar and Manoranjan D had their passes signed by BJP MP Pratap Simha. The opposition criticized the BJP for the extensive breach.

The Delhi Police special cell has filed charges under sections of the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act, as well as sections 120B and 452 of the Indian Penal Code.

The six accused hail from different states but were acquainted with each other. Their family members were unaware of their activities in Parliament on Wednesday. All of them are unemployed. During the initial investigation, Anmol informed the police that they were upset about the farmers’ protest, the Manipur crisis, and unemployment. It remains unknown whether they were associated with any organization. Neelam claimed to be a student preparing for competitive exams after completing MA, B.ED, M.Ed, M.Phil, and clearing NET. Amol is a resident of Maharashtra’s Latur, while Manoranjan D is from Mysuru, Pratap Simha’s constituency. They had known each other for the past four years through social media.

The Ministry of Home Affairs has ordered an inquiry into the security breach, establishing a panel under Anish Dayal Singh, DG, CRPF, with members from other security agencies and experts.

In response to the major breach, security protocols for the new Parliament building have been revised to minimize contact between MPs and visitors. A dedicated media briefing center has been established, and the Lok Sabha Secretariat issued instructions to MPs regarding Smart Identity Cards and facial recognition systems.

Sagar and Manoranjan D accessed the Lok Sabha by leaping from the visitors’ gallery, releasing yellow gas concealed in their shoes. They obtained the pass from Mysuru MP Pratap Simha. Only MPs can request visitor passes, requiring a declaration affirming personal acquaintance and full responsibility for the guest, according to the Lok Sabha handbook for members.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *