New Zealand’s team has announced its 14-member squad for the upcoming home one-day series. Due to injuries to senior players and workload management, young players have been given more opportunities in this series.

Currently, the New Zealand team is on a tour of Bangladesh, where after three one-day matches between both teams, a Test series is being played. The Kiwi team had to face a decisive defeat in the first match of the Test series, and the team is struggling in the second Test as well. Meanwhile, New Zealand’s team has announced its squad for the upcoming series. Several young players have been given a chance in this team. It is worth mentioning that Bangladesh will tour New Zealand from December 17. The team has been announced for this series.

Opportunity for the Youth Due to the injuries of several star players, New Zealand selectors have been compelled to choose a relatively young 14-member team for the upcoming home one-day series against Bangladesh. The announcement of the team has brought great joy to the young players who have consistently performed well in domestic cricket. The 22-year-old seamer Will O’Rourke from Canterbury and 26-year-old all-rounder Josh Clarkson from Central Stags have received their first call-up, while leg-spinner Ashok, who made his T20 International debut against the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in August, has been selected for the ODIs for the first time. Ashok will be eager to make a place in the playing eleven with his leg-spinning skills during the series, and there is a high probability that he might get a chance to be a part of the playing eleven during the series.

Rest Given to These Players Senior players like Kane Williamson, Tim Southee, Glenn Phillips, Devon Conway, Daryl Mitchell, and Mitchell Santner have been given rest for the series as they are currently participating in the two-match Test series against Bangladesh and won’t return home until then. These players have been playing continuously for the team since the World Cup. Now, let’s take a look at the 14-member squad:

New Zealand Squad for the One-Day Series against Bangladesh: Tom Latham (Captain), Ashok* (Games 2 and 3), Finn Allen, Tom Blundell, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Kyle Jamieson, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Will O’Rourke, Rachin Ravindra, Ish Sodhi (Only for the first ODI), Will Young

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *