Suryakumar Yadav has become the ninth captain to lead the Indian cricket team in T20Is since 2021. This list begins with Virat Kohli and extends to Suryakumar Yadav, who was recently named captain for the T20Is against Australia at home.

In the majority of 2021, Kohli served as the captain, overseeing 10 matches with 6 victories and 4 losses before stepping down. Dhawan took charge on several occasions in Kohli and Rohit Sharma’s absence, leading in 3 matches, winning 1, and losing 2.

From 2021 to 2022, Rohit Sharma led the Indian cricket team in T20Is for 32 matches, securing 24 wins and experiencing 8 losses. Rishabh Pant assumed the captaincy during the 2022 South Africa series, winning 2 matches, losing 2, and encountering 1 No Result.

Hardik Pandya was appointed captain after India’s T20 World Cup semifinal loss. He led the team in 16 matches in 2022 and 2023, losing 5, winning 10, and tying 1 game. KL Rahul also captained India in a T20I match in 2022, securing a victory.

In 2023, Jasprit Bumrah led India in 2 matches against Ireland, emerging victorious in both. Ruturaj Gaikwad captained India in 3 matches at the Asian Games, winning all three.

With several players resting and Hardik Pandya sidelined due to injury, Suryakumar Yadav has been appointed as the captain for the Australia T20Is, marking the ninth captain in the last three years to lead the Indian side in the shortest format.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *